Website Search


Streaming Video

Video Playlists

Includes Feature Films, Kistler Prize Acceptance Speeches, Interviews, Lectures, and Scholar Visions of the Long-term Future


Recent Publications

“Global Transitions and Asia 2060” Executive Summary

“Water – The Crisis Ahead” Executive Summary

Winter 2010 Newsletter

All Foundation publications are available for download from our Publications page.



Norman Myers Lecture

• Walter P. Kistler Lecture Series
• May 18, 2020

12th Annual Kistler Prize

• Fall 2011



“Global Transitions and Asia 2060” Workshop

• Taipei, Taiwan
• November 2010

Peter Ward Lecture

• Walter P. Kistler Lecture Series
• October 2010

11th Annual Kistler Prize

• September 2010

“Managing the Future”

• Talk by Sesh Velamoor
• July 2010

“Water – The Crisis Ahead”

• Humanity 3000 Workshop
• April 2010  [AUDIO FILES]






Education and Student Awards


Foundation Education and Student Awards were created to encourage scholarship in subjects pertaining to the long-term future of humanity.


Evolution-Education Award

The Foundation For the Future sponsored an annual Evolution-Education Award in conjunction with the National Association of Biology Teachers (NABT) 2002 through 2005. The award recognized innovative and effective classroom teaching and community education to promote the accurate understanding of biological evolution. It included US$1,000 in cash plus a plaque and travel expenses to the NABT convention.

The award continues under its present name: Walter P. Kistler Science Teacher of the Year Award, sponsored wholly by the Foundation For the Future.

Recipients of the Evolution-Education Award include:

2005  Sarah L. Pallas, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Dept. of Biology
Georgia State University
Atlanta, GA

2004  Robert G. Weck
Assistant Professor of Biology
Southwestern Illinois College
Belleville, IL

2003  R. Wesley McCoy, Ph.D.
Science Department Chair and Teacher of Biology, Genetics, and Astronomy
North Cobb High School
Kennesaw, GA

2002  Steve Randak
Biology Teacher (High School)
Lafayette School Corporation
Lafayette, IN

Student Essay Contest

In conjunction with the Walter P. Kistler Book Award, the Foundation conducts an annual student essay contest for students in two categories: college and high school. Two prizes of US$500 each are awarded, one in each category, if, in the opinion of the judges, contest essays are of sufficiently high caliber.

Students who wish to submit an essay must attend the Walter P. Kistler Book Award presentation and lecture, and sign up at the event to enter the contest. Essays must be responsive to the specific topic posed by the Foundation, and are judged by Foundation staff on the basis of originality, thoughtfulness, ingenuity, and scientific veracity. Winners receive cash awards and framed certificates.


Robert Friel, Garfield High School, Seattle, WA USA
(First Prize – High School Category)

2004 No award bestowed


Brett Drugge, Pacific Oaks College, Pasadena, CA USA
(First Prize – College and Above Category)

David Hill, co-author, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA USA
Tamar Krishnamurti, co-author, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA USA
(Runner-Up – College and Above Category)

Katharyn Y. Jia, Stevenson Elementary School, Bellevue, WA USA
(First Prize – High School and Below Category)

Mia Weiss, Stevenson Elementary School, Bellevue, WA USA
(Runner-Up – High School and Below Category)